RU EN
Close

The land of the lapwings

Significant statistics
500,000 m²
is the square area covered by ornithological surveys
7
avian studies carried out
82
bird species settling in habitats located within the company’s boundaries
290
school students took part the in eco-classes
715
competitors have taken part in birding competitions
The Land of the Lapwing is a comprehensive bird conservation project that has been implemented at ZapSibNeftekhim, SIBUR's largest petrochemical complex in Russia, since 2019. The project has been contributing to attaining of one of the company's key environmental goals, that of preserving biodiversity in the areas where its facilities are located as well as raising environmental awareness and conscientiousness.

Northern lapwings (Vanellus vanellus)

The northern lapwing, also known as the pewit, is a small bird in the Charadriidae family. One of the most common Charadriiformes species inhabiting Eurasia, from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific, from the Artic Circle in the North to the coast of the Mediterranean in the South, the lapwing settles in wet meadows and grasslands covered with occasional shrubs, and it does not seem to mind settling next to humans. Its characteristic shrill wailing cry is an alarm signal the bird is using to drive off unwanted visitors away from its nest. In 2010, the Russian Bird Conservation Union named the Northern lapwing the Bird of the Year.

Ornithological surveys and bird conservation measures

Since 2019, annual ornithological surveys have been conducted in Tobolsk on the grounds of ZapSibNeftekhim, SIBUR's largest Russian petrochemical complex to ascertain the species composition of bird communities living on the grounds of the company’s production sites, and to locate the nests of lapwing and other species of birds to help make arrangements for their conservation.

These surveys are conducted at least twice a year: once in spring, during the period of nesting, and then later in the fall, before the start of the overwintering period.

It has been established that the company’s grounds are inhabited by such species of birds as lapwing, common redshank, little ring plover, godwit, mallard, garganey, and European stonechat. The birds’ nests have been marked up with warning signs.

Based on the results of the four ornithological surveys already conducted in the area under the survey, the company has taken necessary steps to prevent any direct human interference with the birds during the nesting period. SIBUR opened a hotline for its employees to discuss matters related to helping the birds. In addition, the company has developed a procedure the employees are to follow in case they spot any new nesting sites or find birds that need help.

The surveys’ results confirm that the company’s grounds prove to be a comfortable habitat for local bird species.


Birding competitions

As part of the project, educational birding (sports ornithology) competitions have been organized for Tobolsk schoolchildren. The competitors’ goal is to spot, photograph and correctly identify as many bird species as possible over a certain period of time on the grounds of the Tobol Park. Competitions take place on or around the International Bird Day.
The very first tournament was held in the autumn of 2019. It was attended by 85 school students who made up 16 competing teams. All three top prizes were awarded to students from Secondary School 9. Further details about these competitions are available at the link here.
In the spring of 2021, the second birding competition took place on the grounds of the Tobol Park. Its 128 participants were split into 27 teams representing the schools of Tobolsk and Tobolsk District, Children's Technopark Quantorium-Tobolsk, and the urban Center for Advancing Family Placement and Foster Family Support.
The 2021 tournament’s winners were the teams of Verkhnearemzianka’s D.I. Mendeleev Secondary School, Setovskaya Secondary School, and Secondary School 14 (Tobolsk). Special prizes were also awarded to the pupils of Tobolsk’s Secondary School 1’s Kindergarten Unit.

Birding Rally

Birding Rally is a motoring team competition in sport ornithology (birding). At the tournament, its participants have to go down a certain route looking for and photographing birds. The event is won by those who record and correctly identify the greatest number of bird species. Initially scheduled to take place on May 22, the Birding Rally in Tobolsk was postponed due to the declared emergency situation in the forests in Tyumen Oblast caused by naturally occurring fires and because of a subsequent ban on the presence of vehicles and individuals in forested areas. The new date of the birding rally is to be announced later.

Eurasian Bird Count

October 3-4, 2020 saw the Eurasian Bird Count take place. The Eurasian Bird Count is an international scientific flash mob meant to involve volunteers in counting all birds, migratory or otherwise, encountered over the expanse stretching from the Atlantic to the Pacific. The counting is conducted annually under the auspices of the BirdLife International, the International Council for Bird Preservation.

This happened concurrently with Tyumen Oblast hosting the first birdwatching competition for schoolchildren organized by SIBUR within the framework of the Territory of Lapwing project carried out as part of the Formula for Good Deeds social investment program. Students from five schools took part in the birdwatching tournament.

As a result of the birdwatching competition, the first place was awarded to Viktor P. Neimyshev School 16, whose students counted 2,950 birds. The second and the third places were taken by School 14 and Nikolay D. Litsman Gymnasium whose students counted 991 and 889 birds, respectively. Owing to the active participation of Tobolsk’s schoolchildren in the birdwatching contest, Tyumen Oblast came in second in terms of the overall number of participants among all other Russian regions and was third by the number of birds counted. 

Education and awareness-raising events

The company has been conducting special educational sessions for both its own employees and for the city's volunteer community. At these talks ornithologists have been explaining to the participants how one should act in emergency situations involving chicks and adult birds, and inform them about existing anthropogenic threats and common bird-related mistakes and misconceptions.

Tobolsk’s schoolchildren have been given the opportunity to take part in so-called eco-lessons meant to instill interest in birds and ornithology in children.

A Contest of Photographs of Bird Feeders and Bird Feeds

A photo contest was held in November 2020 in celebration of the Day of the Great Tit. This eco-themed festival coincides with the preparation of bird feeds for the birds that stay over for the winter. A total of 1,838 photos of original-design bird feeders and creative bird feed arrangements from all over Tyumen Oblast got entered in the contest. The photographers who shot the best pictures were rewarded with various prizes and awards, whereas all other participants of the contest received personalized electronic certificates.

Video of the Project

The Project’s Partners

RU EN
Закрыть

Территория чибисов

Значимая статистика
500 000 м²
площадь орнитологических обследований
6
орнитологических обследований проведено
65
видов птиц обитает на территории предприятия
140
школьников — участников экоуроков
383
участника соревнований по спортивной орнитологии
«Территория чибисов» — реализуемый с 2019 года комплексный проект по охране птиц на территории крупнейшего российского нефтехимического комплекса СИБУРа «ЗапСибНефтехим». Проект способствует реализации одной из ключевых задач компании в сфере охраны окружающей среды — сохранению биологического разнообразия в местах расположения предприятий, а также воспитанию экологического сознания и ответственности.

Чибисы (Vanellus vanellus)

Чибис, или пигалица — небольшая птица семейства ржанковых. Один из самых распространенных видов куликов на территории Евразии, от Атлантики до Тихого океана, от Полярного круга до Средиземноморского побережья. Чибис селится на сырых лугах и травянистых болотах, покрытых редкими кустами. Не боится селиться рядом с человеком. Знаменитый «плач» чибиса — довольно громкий крик — это сигнал тревоги, которым птица отгоняет незваных гостей от гнезд. В 2010 году Союз охраны птиц России объявил чибиса «Птицей года».

Орнитологические обследования и меры по защите птиц

С 2019 года в Тобольске на территории крупнейшего российского нефтехимического комплекса СИБУРа «ЗапСибНефтехим» проводятся ежегодные орнитологические обследования, их цель – определение видового состава птиц, обитающих на производственных площадках, а также выявление гнезд чибисов и других видов птиц для их защиты.

Обследования проходят не реже двух раз в год — весной, в период гнездования, и осенью, перед началом периода зимовки.

Выявлено, что на территории предприятия гнездятся чибис, травник, малый зуек, большой веретенник, кряква, чирок-трескунок, черноголовый чекан. Обнаруженные гнезда маркируются предупреждающими знаками.

По итогам выполненных орнитологических осмотров территории приняты природоохранные меры, исключающие прямое воздействие человека на птиц в период высиживания птенцов. Для сотрудников СИБУРа запущена горячая линия на тему помощи птицам и разработан алгоритм действий в случае обнаружения новых гнезд и птиц, нуждающихся в помощи.

Итоги обследований подтверждают, что на территории предприятия созданы благоприятные условия для обитания птиц.


Бёрдинг-ралли

Бёрдинг-ралли — это командные автомобильные соревнования по спортивной орнитологии (бёрдингу). Во время соревнований участники проходят определенный маршрут, на котором ищут и фотографируют птиц. Побеждают те, кто зафиксирует и правильно определит наибольшее количество видов птиц.

Запланированное на 22 мая бёрдинг-ралли в Тобольске переносится в связи с объявлением в Тюменской области «Чрезвычайной ситуации в лесах» вследствие природных пожаров и введением запрета на пребывание транспорта и граждан в лесных массивах. О новой дате проведения бердинг-ралли будет объявлено дополнительно.

Соревнования по бёрдингу

В рамках проекта для школьников Тобольска проводятся учебные соревнования по бердингу (спортивной орнитологии). Цель соревнований — увидеть, сфотографировать и правильно определить как можно больше видов птиц за определенный промежуток времени на территории парка «Тобол». Соревнования приурочены к Международному дню птиц.

Первые соревнования прошли осенью 2019 года. В мероприятии приняли участие 85 школьников, объединенные в 16 команд. Все три призовых места заняли ученики из СОШ №9. Подробнее об этих соревнованиях можно прочесть по ссылке.

Весной 2021 года в парке «Тобол» прошли вторые соревнования по бёрдингу. 128 участников, объединенные в 27 команд, представляли школы Тобольска и Тобольского района, детский технопарк «Кванториум-Тобольск», городской Центр содействия семейному устройству и сопровождения приемных семей.

Победителями 2021 года стали команды Верхнеаремзянской СОШ им. Д.И. Менделеева, Сетовской СОШ, МАОУ СОШ №14 (Тобольск). Специальными призами отмечены воспитанники структурного подразделения «Детский сад» МАОУ СОШ №1 Тобольска.


Евразийский учёт птиц

3 и 4 октября 2020 года прошёл Евразийский учёт птиц, это международный научный флэшмоб, цель которого – силами волонтеров посчитать всех встреченных птиц, в том числе перелетных, на территории от Атлантического до Тихого океана. Учёт ежегодно проводится под эгидой Международного союза охраны птиц BirdLife International.
В Тюменской области в эти дни состоялись первые соревнования среди школьников по бердвотчингу – спортивной орнитологии, организованные СИБУРом в рамках проекта «Территория чибисов» программы социальных инвестиций «Формула хороших дел». К турниру по бердвотчингу присоединились пять образовательных учреждений. 

По итогам соревнований по бердвотчингу первое место заняла МАОУ СОШ №16 им. В.П.Неймышева, ученики которой насчитали 2 950 птиц. На втором и третьем местах – МАОУ СОШ №14 и гимназия им. Н.Д.Лицмана. Учащиеся этих образовательных учреждений насчитали 991 и 889 птиц соответственно. Благодаря огромной вовлеченности тобольских школьников в соревнования по спортивной орнитологии Тюменская область заняла второе место среди российских регионов по числу участников Евразийского учета птиц и третье – по количеству пересчитанных птиц.

Образовательные мероприятия

Для сотрудников компании, а также для волонтерского сообщества города проводятся специальные образовательные сессии. Орнитологи рассказывают участникам, как вести себя в экстренных ситуациях с участием птенцов и взрослых особей, а также об антропогенных угрозах и распространенных ошибках и заблуждениях, связанных с птицами.

Для школьников Тобольска проводятся экоуроки, призванные сформировать у детей интерес к орнитологии.

Конкурс фотографий кормушек и кормов для птиц

В ноябре 2020 года прошел фотоконкурс, приуроченный к Синичкиному дню. Этот экологический праздник связан с заготовкой подкормки для птиц, остающихся на зимовку. На конкурс было принято 1838 фотографий оригинальных кормушек и креативных композиций из корма для птиц со всей Тюменской области.

Авторов лучших работ наградили призами и дипломами, а все участники фотоконкурса получили именные электронные сертификаты.

Видео о проекте

Партнеры проекта